Manayunk Neighborhood Council


  • Letter to the editor - From Manayunk Neighborhood Council, About Manayunk Council Elections, The Review, April 18, 2001
  • Letter of support from local civic groups - which explains the situation pretty well
  • Letter of support from Wissahickon Interested Citizens
  • On May 2, 2001, the opposition slate, led by the Roxborough Law Office, held an unauthorized curbside election. They declared themselves the winners and the new MNC officers. They attempted to takeover the MNC bank account and the MNC meeting space. They sent letters and announcements on MNC letterhead.
  • On May 21, 2001, Manayunk Neighborhood Council filed a lawsuit against the oppositon group with six counts, including, conspiracy, interference with a contract, libel, slander, fraud, and misappropriation of name. announcements on MNC letterhead.
  • On May 23, 2001, Manayunk Neighborhood Council filed for a preliminary injunction against the opposition group asking the courts to stop the them from interfering with our election, stop representing themselves as officers of MNC, stop interfering with the business and legal relationships of MNC, stop using MNC letterhead, stop interfering with ongoing litigation (VI appeal), and to stop trying to pass themselves off as represnting Manayunk.
  • On June 8, 2001, Roxborough Law Office, representing the opposition group, filed a counterclaim to our lawsuit.
  • On October 18, 2001, the judge finally ruled on the injunction. She did so by setting up guidelines for a new election.
  • On November 7, 2001, registration for the MNC election was held. 400 people registered. About 260 people were pre-qualified (MNC members and those opposition memebers who voted in the illegal May election) for a total of about 660 eligible voters.
  • On November 14, 2001, MNC elections were held.
    • 474 people voted.
    • 337 people voted for the Jane Glenn slate
    • 85 people voted for the Gartenberg slate
    • 52 people split their votes

      Office Running Votes Running Votes
      President Jane Glenn 373 Eric Gartenberg 103
      Vice President Kathy Tomosky 371 James Barnes 102
      Treasurer Gerald Harrison 366 John Bernard 103
      Corresponding Secretary Kevin Smith 376 Susan Mamrol 100
      Recording Secretary Karen Smith 370 John Teague 104
      Sergeant-at-Arms Arte Verbrugghe 372 Cynthia Edwards 102
      Trustee Doug Cowley 350 Vince Esposito 123
      Average 368 105
    * Note! 474 people voted but a couple of the offices add up to 476... Anyway, these are the numbers we have.

  • Return to Home Page